Recently, I decided on a path for my future.

Throughout my life, I’ve wanted to be a dancer, a veterinary surgeon, a writer… But now I’ve finally decided what I’d like to do after I finish University (either after my BA or after doing an MA):

I’m going to teach English to people in Japan!

So, in order to get by and survive in Japan, I must learn the language before I get there. I have started teaching myself from a textbook, The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Conversational Japanese.


It did come with an audio CD, but I lost it. Anyhow, I know exactly how to pronounce the language, so I don’t mind. I’ve always been very good at pronunciation when I learnt Spanish. French however, evaded me…that’s another story.

Eventually, I’ll start learning how to read and write Kana/Kanji.

So far, I’ve learnt particles and sentence structure; Affirmative Present, Affirmative Past, Negative Present and Negative Past tenses for verbs, adjectives and nouns; and the TE-form (-ing verbs).

I’ve learnt to say: “That’s my book” – Kore-wa watashi-no hoN-desu. “There’s pizza in the freezer” – Piza-wa furiizaa-ni ari-masu.

I haven’t really bothered to learn much else by heart yet. I’m going to go over everything I’ve learnt so far for a brush up and to test myself.

Readers: Are you learning a new language? What do you find easy or difficult about learning the language?

